Suppose a Sentence

Brian Dillon, Paperback

$15.26

In stock, new

🙂 Free Shipping over $49 & Free Returns

A captivating meditation on the power of the sentence by the author of Essayism, a 2018 New Yorker book of the year.

In Suppose a Sentence, Brian Dillon, whom John Banville has called “a literary fl neur in the tradition of Baudelaire and Walter Benjamin,” has written a sequel of sorts to Essayism, turning his attention to the oblique and complex pleasures of the sentence. A series of essays prompted by a single sentence–from Shakespeare to James Baldwin, John Ruskin to Joan Didion–this new book explores style, voice, and language, along with the subjectivity of reading. Both an exercise in practical criticism and a set of experiments or challenges, Suppose a Sentence is a polemical and personal reflection on the art of the sentence in literature.

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Suppose a Sentence”

Description

Binding Type: Paperback
Author: Brian Dillon
Published: 09/22/2020
Publisher: New York Review of Books
ISBN: 9781681375243
Pages: 232
Weight: 0.65lbs
Size: 8.40h x 5.70w x 0.60d

Additional information

Weight0.65 lbs
Dimensions8.4 × 5.7 × 0.6 in